Image

Rotary antenna

Help with installing an Antenna, or just choosing the right antenna to go with your radio, or your mobile.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 250
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Rotary antenna

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Wednesday, 13 September 2017, 23:05 PM

I picked up this CDE Rotor set up its a 8 wire I don't know how it wires up never had one. Anyone have some info on this would be great. Really wanting to try it out I just don't want to hook it up wrong and fry it. Thanks
Image

Image


User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1272
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Rotary antenna

Post by sonoma » Wednesday, 13 September 2017, 23:11 PM

each wire location is marked 1 to 8. just match up the box and rotar with the same wire to each pin. 1 to 1 , 2 to 2 etc.the rotar needs the 8 pin connector also

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 250
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Rotary antenna

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Wednesday, 13 September 2017, 23:50 PM

ill look I think someone has cut the wires close to the bottom of the rotor. Do I take them apart and look at the color codes that way and if so do I have to reline the rotor so it don't turn more one way then the other way how do I get it center again.

User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1272
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Rotary antenna

Post by sonoma » Thursday, 14 September 2017, 1:07 AM

the rotor does not just keep turning. it has stops on it. you have a calibrate knob on the front.way I do mine is tun the rotor as far as it goes one way. calibrate the knob then loosen the rod to the antenna and manually turn the antenna to line up with the rotor if it shows north on the box point the antenna north. then tighten up the bolts that holds the mast the antenna is on so it does not slip. thats how I do mine. I have 2 ham 4 rotors and 4 control boxes. can change out a box and it works just fine. the link to the owners manual should help you a lot. if you put ham iv rotor manual in your browser you will get even more manuals to look at.

http://www.radiomanual.info/schemi/ACC_ ... _W0MTU.pdf

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7078
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD

Re: Rotary antenna

Post by MDYoungblood » Thursday, 14 September 2017, 8:45 AM

On the bottom side of the rotor there should be a small plate with 2 screws, remove the plate and you will see the terminal screws just like on the back of the rotor control box. If you plan to use it read the manual that sonoma linked, you will need to order some 8 wire cable, 2 of the wires in the cable are larger gauge, they are the power leads to the motor in the rotor, the rest are controls. the wires in the cable will be colored, put the same wire on the control box terminal on the rotor terminal. It's as easy as wiring a mic.

3's

Greg
ImageImageImage


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD Image WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment


Base
Uniden Washington
Mobile
Texas Ranger TR-696FD1C
Handheld
Maxon HCB-40WX
Antennas
Avanti Sigma II
Homemade Full Wave Loop
Homemade 1/2 wave Dipole
Hustler 102" SS Whip and Hustler Ball Mount

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department




User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 250
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Rotary antenna

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Thursday, 14 September 2017, 12:39 PM

Ya I got it to work the gage is not working on the box though the Potentiometer is good so it must be in the box not sure what to look for on that.

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7078
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD

Re: Rotary antenna

Post by MDYoungblood » Thursday, 14 September 2017, 15:45 PM

It could be the rotor motor needs to be calibrated, instructions to do that are in the manual. Second check the wiring too, that is always a possibility.

3's

Greg
ImageImageImage


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD Image WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment


Base
Uniden Washington
Mobile
Texas Ranger TR-696FD1C
Handheld
Maxon HCB-40WX
Antennas
Avanti Sigma II
Homemade Full Wave Loop
Homemade 1/2 wave Dipole
Hustler 102" SS Whip and Hustler Ball Mount

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7078
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD

Re: Rotary antenna

Post by MDYoungblood » Thursday, 14 September 2017, 15:48 PM

What is the model of the motor? The control boxes are all the same.

3's

Greg
ImageImageImage


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD Image WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment


Base
Uniden Washington
Mobile
Texas Ranger TR-696FD1C
Handheld
Maxon HCB-40WX
Antennas
Avanti Sigma II
Homemade Full Wave Loop
Homemade 1/2 wave Dipole
Hustler 102" SS Whip and Hustler Ball Mount

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5702
Joined: Sunday, 10 October 2004, 18:02 PM
Location: Republic of Texas
Referrals: 1

Re: Rotary antenna

Post by jessejamesdallas » Thursday, 14 September 2017, 15:59 PM

MDYoungblood wrote:
Thursday, 14 September 2017, 8:45 AM
On the bottom side of the rotor there should be a small plate with 2 screws, remove the plate and you will see the terminal screws just like on the back of the rotor control box. If you plan to use it read the manual that sonoma linked, you will need to order some 8 wire cable, 2 of the wires in the cable are larger gauge, they are the power leads to the motor in the rotor, the rest are controls. the wires in the cable will be colored, put the same wire on the control box terminal on the rotor terminal. It's as easy as wiring a mic.

3's

Greg
actually...It's easier than wiring a Mic!

wiring a Mic requires soldering skills...and a steady hand...both which apparently I'm lacking... :icon_e_sad:
Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.



User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1272
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Rotary antenna

Post by sonoma » Thursday, 14 September 2017, 17:30 PM

have you verified that the needle is not just stuck as a cb radio meter some times does.

[ Post made via Linux Laptop ] Image

User avatar
EZ CHOPPER
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 250
Joined: Sunday, 27 November 2016, 8:53 AM
Name: Edward
Cell Phone: 615-967-1568

Re: Rotary antenna

Post by EZ CHOPPER » Thursday, 14 September 2017, 18:32 PM

let me look you want the model number from underneath the rotor.


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests