Kenwood TS-430S

A place to ask questions about base setup
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic
User avatar
terryj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 22
Joined: April 19th, 2013, 11:17 am
Age: 72
9

Kenwood TS-430S

#408985

Post by terryj »

I was given a Kenwood TS-430S awhile back, had to do a little work on it, clean relays, replace some caps and resistors, now it's working okay but could be better. Looking at a few sites for upgrades to this radio that I think I'll do in the next couple of weeks. So far it works, puts out about 50 watts AM and about 175 SSB. The AM receive audio is real mushy and from what I read this is a common issue with this radio. Now all I have to do is get a decent 11 meter antenna, I currently have it on a long wire.

I was given the TS-430S radio, PS-430 power supply, SP-430 Ex. Speaker and the AT-230 Antenna tuner.

I worked for 35 years as a communications engineer so radios are not that foreign to me.







Donate to CBRT
User avatar
MDYoungblood
Verified
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10,392
Joined: June 12th, 2010, 8:05 pm
Age: 70
11

#408986

Post by MDYoungblood »

Kenwood is a nice radio, that model has a bit of lacking in receive but does have a preamp. 11m mod is easy plus it opens the radio to transmit on all the amateur HF bands. The manual can be found on a site called "RigPix", look it up as they aren't a sponsor for us.

3's

Greg






"321, NW South Carolina"

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

Donate to CBRT
User avatar
terryj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 22
Joined: April 19th, 2013, 11:17 am
Age: 72
9

#408988

Post by terryj »

Thanks for the info







Donate to CBRT
User avatar
MDYoungblood
Verified
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10,392
Joined: June 12th, 2010, 8:05 pm
Age: 70
11

#408989

Post by MDYoungblood »

Most of the older ham radios wasn’t much on AM, they really weren’t designed for it. I think your 175w reading is a bit high, think the tubes in it were only good for about 120w, AM is less than a third of that. Correct me if I’m wrong but I think that radio had FM as an option, if the module is installed you got a good bargain.

3’s

Greg






"321, NW South Carolina"

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

Donate to CBRT
User avatar
tramd
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 15
Joined: May 15th, 2009, 7:45 pm
Age: 101
13

#408992

Post by tramd »

The TS430 is a solid state radio. No tubes.


Post Merge Complete

Added 3 minutes 2 seconds after previous.
The TS-430S is a solid state radio. No tubes and FM was an option.







Donate to CBRT
User avatar
terryj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 22
Joined: April 19th, 2013, 11:17 am
Age: 72
9

#408996

Post by terryj »

The TS-430S doesn't have any tubes and the FM option isn't installed. I think free is a good bargain no matter how you look at it. Gives me something to tinker on.







Donate to CBRT
User avatar
MDYoungblood
Verified
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10,392
Joined: June 12th, 2010, 8:05 pm
Age: 70
11

#408997

Post by MDYoungblood »

True, FM is only needed for the 10m repeater portion of HF.

3’s

Greg






"321, NW South Carolina"

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

Donate to CBRT
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic