Best mobile wattmeter?

This forum is for general discussions, and you are welcome to post in this forum if you are not able to find the right place.
User avatar
bigsarge23
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 11
Joined: April 16th, 2013, 5:58 pm
Age: 39
9

Best mobile wattmeter?

#409351

Post by bigsarge23 »

Getting back into the hobby after a 5 year break. Got my trusty tuned up Cobra 29 LX all set up in the truck, and have my MFJ-826B installed as my meter. I don’t mind the size of the MFJ, but what are some opinions on the best mobile meter? It’s a 3/4 ton Ram, so not the smoothest ride, and I prefer the meter vertical (face up) tucked into my console I made below the center seat so I can peak at it. Thoughts?







Donate to CBRT
User avatar
MDYoungblood
Verified
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10,464
Joined: June 12th, 2010, 8:05 pm
Age: 70
12

#409366

Post by MDYoungblood »

I make my adjustments to the antenna system using a analyzer then just hook to the radio. Been thinking of getting a digital SWR/watt meter for my 2m/70cm radio because it is more sensitive to antenna changes than the HF rig that has a auto tuner inline. Check out the digital ones, hands free from calibrating.

3’s

Greg






"321, NW South Carolina"

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

Donate to CBRT
User avatar
bigsarge23
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 11
Joined: April 16th, 2013, 5:58 pm
Age: 39
9

#409370

Post by bigsarge23 »

Luckily a buddy has a Rigexpert so we were able to tune my predator and get coax all squared away. I like being able to see and adjust swing/PEP, FWD/REF, all that.

I found a Monitor Sensors power/SWR meter, all digital, that’s pretty slick. Might check it out yourself, seems to be best option in my searching.







Donate to CBRT
User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Verified
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 6,234
Joined: October 10th, 2004, 7:02 pm
Age: 100
17

#409372

Post by jessejamesdallas »

You don't need a watt meter...get the radio and antenna tuned, then take the meter out of line...(one less peace of equipment cluttering-up the cab)

In my Tacoma space is extremally limited, so my radio is dash-mounted, I have a switch to turn ON/and OFF my amp which is in the toolbox in the bed of the truck...I do have a external speaker, but no meter.

"IF" I'm concerned about the SWR, then I check it with the radios built-in SWR check feature...It may or may/not be super accurate, but it's accurate enough to let me know when somethings wrong, then I can check things out with my analyzer later...

no need to constantly be checking my power out...I already know what that's doing! :-D
Image






Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

Donate to CBRT
User avatar
bigsarge23
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 11
Joined: April 16th, 2013, 5:58 pm
Age: 39
9

#409373

Post by bigsarge23 »

I Know lol, I get that. Everything’s tuned, but aside from just liking to know, there’s other variables; the radio is tuned up and has variable power and internal echo, but since it’s gone through, the internal S meter won’t swing past 1.5, so it’s nice to see that, plus, handy for setting the dead key. I also tinker, so nice to see what is going on when I change a mic/radio/amp.







Donate to CBRT
User avatar
MDYoungblood
Verified
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10,464
Joined: June 12th, 2010, 8:05 pm
Age: 70
12

#409374

Post by MDYoungblood »

Like JJD said. When I ran a Anytone AT-6666, it had a built in SWR and in the menu you could set a cut off if the SWR would get too high, radio wouldn’t transmit. My HF rig does the same thing.

3’s

Greg






"321, NW South Carolina"

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

Donate to CBRT
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic